Click here to buy

Wade in the Water: The Wisdom of the Spirituals by Arthur C. Jones, Ph.D. (2008) 
(Book w/CD-3rd Edition) In this engaging volume, noted psychologist, musician and founder of The Spirituals Project, Dr. Arthur C. Jones, explains how the spirituals embody a rich tradition of values, particularly in human relationships, community, and hope. Included with this edition is a companion CD of 22 beautiful selections demonstrating the power of the spirituals.


Chapter 1 Chapter 4
1 Over My Head 13 This Little Light of Mine
2 Heav’n, Heav’n 14 We are Climbing Jacob’s Ladder
Chapter 2 15 Li’l Boy
3 De Blin’ Man Stood On de Road an’ Cried 16 I Want Jesus to Walk With Me
4 Sometimes I Feel Like a Motherless Child 17 I’m Gonna Sing When the Spirit Says Sing
5 Mary Had a Baby 18 City Called Heaven
6 Sister Mary Had-a But One Child Chapter 5
Chapter Three 19 Scandalize My Name
7 Oh, Freedom 20 Give Me Your Hand
8 Go Down, Moses Chapter 6
9 Didn’t My Lord Deliver Daniel 21 There Is a Balm in Gilead
10 Steal Away 22 Wade in the Water
11 Peter, Go Ring-a Them Bells
12 Joshua Fit the Battle of Jericho

Slice the Air cover

Click here to buy

They Slice the Air CD (2007) 
Our fourth release is an acoustic recording that brings the songs to life through solo and choral performances of the spirituals, featuring members of The Spirituals Project Choir.


1 Lord, How Come Me Here 10 Never Turn Back
2 Oh Freedom 11 Soon I Will Be Done
3 Run, Mary, Run 12 I Can Tell the World
4 I’m Buildin’ Me a Home 13 Rock-a My Soul
5 Keep on Travelin’, Soldier 14 Wade in the Water
6 Wade in the Water 15 Oh Freedom
7 Moses 16 Swing Low, Sweet Chariot
8 City Called Heaven 17 They Slice the Air
9 Give Me Jesus


Click here to buy

Changed My Name CD (2004) 
(2-CD set) Our third release is a live recording of our First Annual Gala, featuring the Spirituals Project Choir with soloists performing Linda Twine’s spirituals cantata, “Changed My Name.”


Disc 1 Disc 2
1 Over My Head I Hear Music 1 Changed My Name
2 Good News! Chariot’s A-Comin’ 2 Narration, Sojourner Truth
3 Don’t You Let Nobody Turn You ‘Roun’ 3 The Auction
4 Any How 4 The Good Ol’ Righteous Way
5 On Ma Journey Now 5 Narration, Sojourner Truth
6 Daniel, Daniel, Servant of the Lord 6 The Runaway
7 We Are Climbing Jacob’s Ladder 7 Narration, Harriet Tubman; The Old Ship of Zion
8 Listen to the Lambs 8 Narration, Harriet Tubman and Sojourner Truth
9 Keep Your Lamps Trimmed and Burnin’ 9 Finale: I’m Goin’ Through
10 Ain’t-a That Good News! 10 Encore: I Wanna Be Ready
11 Introduction of Changed My Name 11 Encore: God’s Gonna Set This Worl’ on Fire

Toil and Triumph cover

Sorry – Out of Stock

Toil and Triumph CD (2002)
Our second CD release features The Spirituals Project Choir, directed by Arlen J. Hershberger and Bennie L. Williams, in collaboration with acclaimed baritone, Anthony Brown.


1 Witness 11 I Been in the Storm So Long
2 Didn’t It Rain 12 Is There Anybody Here Who Loves My Jesus?
3 Every Time I Feel the Spirit 13 Give Me Jesus
4 Nobody Knows de Trouble I’ve Seen 14 Scandalize My Name
5 I know de Lord’s Laid His Hands On Me 15 City Called Heaven
6 I’m a Trav’ling to the Grave 16 Heav’n, Heav’n
7 Don’t Be Weary, Traveler 17 Let Us Break Bread Together
8 Ain’t-a That Good News! 18 Good News! Chariot’s A-Comin’
9 Sometimes I Feel Like a Motherless Child 19 God Is a God
10 I Got a Home In-a Dat Rock 20 He’s Got the Whole World in His Hands

The Spirituals Porject Choir cover

Only one more left in stock!

The Spirituals Project Choir CD (2000) 
Our debut recording featuring The Spirituals Project Choir, directed by Arlen J. Hershberger and Bennie L. Williams.


1 O Mary Don’t You Weep 11 De Blin’ Man Stood On de Road an’ Cried
2 In Bright Mansions Above 12 You Better Min’
3 Go Down, Moses 13 Death’s Gonna Lay His Icy Hands on Me
4 City Called Heaven 14 Run, Sinner Run!
5 Don’t You Let Nobody Turn You Roun’ 15 Wade in the Water
6 My God Is So High 16 I Can’t Stay Away
7 I Don’t Feel Noways Tired 17 The Old Ark’s A-Movering
8 Calvary/Lord, Why Come Me Here? 18 Oh, Didn’t it Rain!
9 Hallelujah 19 There’s No Hiding Place
10 I Want to Be Ready 20 God’s Gonna Set This World on Fire